British consulates to stage gay marriage in 24 countries

Marriage | 6 May 2015 0

Recent Posts

What is a consent order?

September 22, 2020

Same sex couples will be able to officially marry at British consulates in 24 countries from June 3.

Under the Consular Marriages and Marriages under Foreign Law Order 2014, which comes into force on that day, gay couples will be able to enter officially recognised marriages at consulates in the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bolivia
  • Cambodia
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Dominican Republic
  • Estonia
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Japan
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Nicaragua
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Vietnam

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office said the list was currently limited as the service can only be offered in countries which both do not recognise same sex marriage but which have also given permission for such marriages to take place in the consulates.

British consulates in three of the listed countries – Australia, China, and the Dominican Republic – have already conducted same sex marriages in advance of the new legislation

Read the new act here.

The blog team at Stowe is a group of writers who share their advice on the wellbeing and emotional aspects of divorce or separation from personal experience. Guest contributors also regularly contribute to share their knowledge.

Share This Post...

Get in touch

Leave a Reply


Newsletter Sign Up

For all the latest news from Stowe Family law
please sign up for instant access today.

Privacy Policy